Download Adobe Reader
Clubs & Organizations
Home » Campus Life » Clubs & Organizations » Current Student Organizations & Clubs
Print

CURRENT STUDENT ORGANIZATIONS & CLUBS

The research is clear: Getting involved OUTSIDE the classroom results in better performance INSIDE the classroom. Please see the list below for contact information for many active clubs on campus, or... START A NEW CLUB! For information on how to start/re-start a club, visit the Clubs & Organizations webpage.

ACTION CLUB
Advisors: Jim Tolbert,  PH 644-7648
               Ed Schumacher, PH 644-7411
               Pam Camp, PH 644-7411
Meeting Time: 2nd and 4th Tuesdays, 1:30-2:30PM, Bldg 36 Room 333
Purpose: To provide opportunities for the disabled people on campus, to not only socialize with others, but to aid our community through volunteer service.         
Email: jim.tolbert@gcccd.edu; pam.camp@gcccd.edu; ed.schumacher@gcccd.edu

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITY WOMEN (AAUW)
Advisor:  Sue Gonda, PH 644-7875
Meeting Time: Thursdays, 4:00pm, Bldg 55 Room 528
Purpose: Provides opportunities for women to gain experience in non-partisan projects that serve the community. The mission of the AAUW is to advance equity of women and girls through advocacy, philanthropy and research.
Email: sue.gonda@gcccd.edu

AMERICAN CRIMINAL JUSTICE ASSOCIATION (ACJA)
Advisor:  Tina Young, PH 644-7837
              Kathy Sentz, PH 644-7323
Meeting Time: 1st Fri/month, 6PM, Bldg. 34, Room 150
Purpose: The purpose of this club shall be to promote and enhance members’ knowledge of the criminal justice field and professionalism in the field by providing educational and networking activities. 
Email: grossmontacja@gmail.com

ARABIC CLUB
Advisor:  Sonia Ghattas-Soliman, PH 644-7348
              Zahra Samir, PH 644- 7454 x3839 
Meeting Time: Contact Zahra Samir for meeting times
Purpose: To exchange information about the Arab world, hot button issues in the Arab world, Arabic culture, Arabic music and movies, and to organize activities of mutual interest to the members of the club, such as social get-togethers, parties, debates, BBQs, trips on and off campus etc.
Email: sonia.ghattassoliman@gcccd.eduZahra.Samir@gcccd.edu arabicclubgcccd@gmail.com

BLACK STUDENT UNION (BSU)
Advisors: Aaron Starck (619) 644-7008
              Martha Clavelle (619) 644-7188
Meetings: Contact Advisors for meeting times
To build communal support for Black Students, encourage academic success
& serve sociopolitical issues.

CALIFORNIA NURSING STUDENT ASSOCIATION (CNSA)

Advisors: Angela Ngo, PH 644-7319
              Sarah Babini, PH 644-7450
Meeting Time: For meeting times please contact Angela Ngo (619) 644-7319
Purpose: To assume responsibility for contribution to nursing education in order to provide for the highest quality health care.  To provide programs representative of fundamental and current professional interest and concerns.  To aid in the development of the whole person, his/her professional role, and his/her responsibility for the health care of people in all walks of life.
Email: angela.ngo@gcccd.edusarah.babini@gcccd.edu  
 
CAMPUS MINISTERY INTERNATIONAL AT GROSSMONT COLLEGE
Advisors: Brian Woolsey, PH 644-7258
               Michael Perez, PH 644-7746
Meeting Time: Wednesdays at 5:00 pm, location TBD 
Purpose: To reinforce the faith of Christian youth attending Grossmont College and to provide for the students, faculty and staff a basis from which to learn about biblical teaching and the experience of Apostolic faith.
Email: brian.woolsey@gcccd.edu; michael.perez@gcccd.edu

THE CARE CLUB
Advisors: Michael Perez, PH 644-7746
               Maite Valadolid, PH 644--7454 X3605
Meeting Time: Contact the Advisor for meeting time
Purpose: To support anyone who has been touched by single-parenting and help them succeed both academically and socially. As students that face difficulties unknown by the general student population, it is our goal to create additional opportunities that will produce functional students and families. By participating in the community, creating networking opportunities while, also sharing resources and supporting one another. We are not a club we are a family.
Email: michael.perez@gcccd.edu; maite.valadolid@gcccd.edu
                                

CHINESE CLUB
Advisor: Claire Liu,  PH 644-7454 x3545 
Meeting Time: Wednesdays, 6:50pm, Bldg. 36 Rm. 333A
Purpose: To expose the community to the Chinese culture and learn Chinese language in a fun, constructive environment. We also have a mission to stay up-to-date with the events and policies in China that develops a new sense of national identity and place in the world.
Email: Claire.liu@gcccd.edu

CLIMBING CLUB
Advisor: Melissa Karolides 619-644-7454 x3826
Meeting Time: First Tuesday of the month, in Bldg 41-145 at 5:00 pm
To spead knowledge about the sport of climbing, build friendships, develop leadership skills by bringing together both experienced and inexperienced climbers.
melissa.karolides@gcccd.edu

DREAMERS MOVEMENT CLUB
Advisors: Julio Soto, PH 644-3923 
              Raymundo Quezada, PH 644-7492
Meeting Time: Tuesdays, 5:00pm, ASGC Clubroom
Purpose: The Dreamers Movement student organization aspires to educate, support and guide students who have faced academic and personal hardships due to their AB540/undocumented status. Our organization will assist incoming, and currently enrolled students with their college transition and retention needs while also providing a supporting community for the development of student's necessary sense of belonging. 
Email: julio.soto@gcccd.edu

EOPS CLUB
Advisor: Pearl Lopez, (619) 644-7651
             Michael Perez (619) 644-7746
Meeting Time: 1st and 3rd Thursday, 5:00PM, ASGC Clubs Room -60-206
Purpose:To create a fun environment in which members cooperate together to foster their leadership, spread cultural awareness, provide services for the community, and help with education.
Email: Pearl.Lopez@gcccd.edu

FUTURE BROADCASTERS OF AMERICA
Advisor: Evan Wirig, PH 644-7465
Meeting Time: Thursdays, 11AM, Bldg 20 Room 212
Purpose:To train and inform students of opportunities in the professional broadcast world.
Email: evan.wirig@gcccd.edu

GRIFFIN GAMERS
Advisor: Travis Vasquez
             Theoni Harrisburg 
Meeting Time:  Fridays, 12:30, Bldg. 55, Room 530
Purpose: To provide a platform for students to discuss, compete, debate, socialize and play various games. We will also host events and tournaments to gain funds for the club.
Email: travis.varquez@gcccd.edu; theoni.harrisburg@gcccd.edu

HISPANIC ORGANIZATION FOR LATINO AWARENESS (HOLA) CLUB
Advisors:  Nadia Almaguer, (619) 644-7127
                Laura Sahagun, (619) 644-7132
Meeting Time: Monday's, 12:30 - 1:30, ASGC Clubs Room - 60-206 
Purpose: Promote educational and cultural awareness of the invaluable contribution that Latino cultures have provided. We preserve this objective through enriching and recreational activities that we sponsor. We encourage diverse membership (from all ethnic backgrounds) and provide a wide range of opportunities for all students (both Hispanic and non-Hispanic alike) in order to enhance student participation on campus.
Email: nadia.almaguer@gcccd.edu; Laura.Sahagun@gcccd.edu

I AM CLUB
Advisor: Amy Ramos (619) 644-7564
Meeting Time: Wednesday's at 2:00 pm, ASGC Clubs Room - 60-206
To offer community support, tools for times of trial, connections and information to all students who are interested in learning more about mental illness.
Email: amy.ramos@gcccd.edu

INDIVISIBLE CLUB
Advisors: Michele Perchez (619) 644-7335
               Gary Waayers (619) 644-7454
Meeting Time: Tuesdays at 4:00 pm in Bldg 36-327
To promote social and political student engagement and to cultivate youth leadership.  The Indivisible team at Grossmont College achieves this through organizing educational and political awereness events that allow students to become more involved in the political process.      

INTERNATIONAL CLUB
Advisors: Bryan Lam, (619) 644-7466
              Will Pines,   (619) 644-7852
Meeting Time: Check with Advisors for meeting date and time
Purpose: The purpose of the club shall be to provide a forum for the interaction of American and International students, to promote cultural enhancement of all students through social, cultural and educational events and activities and to assist new students in adapting to college life on campus and beyond.
Email: bryan.lam@gcccd.edu; will.pines@gcccd.edu
Email: gstinterclub@yahoo.com 
Website: http://www.grossmont.edu/student-services/applyenroll/internationalstudents/international-club/default.aspx

LE CERCLE FRANCAIS (FRENCH CLUB)
Advisor: Jean-Claude Beauville, PH 644-7454 x3626
Meeting Time: Tuesdays, 3:30pm, Club Room (Bldg. 60, Room 206)
Purpose: The purpose of this organization shall be to promote French/Francophone culture and language and to provide students with an increased awareness of Francophone culture, food, film in France, the Francophone world and our own community.
Email: jean.beauville@gcccd.edu

LIFE AFTER COLLEGE (LAC)
Advisors: Leon Martin Ennis, PH 644-7522 
               Derrek Cannon, PH 644-7257
Meeting Time: Fridays, 1PM - 3PM, Bldg. 70 Rm. 113
Purpose: To help and educate young scholars to be financially ready on making wise decisions of controlling their money and retirement funds during/after college.
Email: marty.ennis@gcccd.edu; derrek.cannon@gcccd.edu

ORTHOPEDIC TECHNOLOGY PROGRAM
Advisor: Chris Rice
Meeting Time:  Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, 6:00pm, Health Bldg.
Purpose: To get more people interested in orthopedics as a job.
Email: chris.rice@gcccd.edu

PALETTE CLUB
Advisor: Sydney Brown, 644-7523
Meeting Time:  TBA
Purpose: To create a safe space for students' mental health through the expression of art. Email: sydney.brown@gcccd.edu

PHI THETA KAPPA
Advisors: Sylvia Montejano, PH.644-7618
               Lida Rafia, PH 644-7770
               Irene Bauza, PH 644-7603 
Meeting Time: Fridays, 3:00PM, ASGC Boardroom
Purpose: The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa at Grossmont College shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students.
Email: sylvia.montejano@gcccd.edu; lida.rafia@gcccd.edu; irene.bauza@gcccd.edu

PUENTE CLUB
Advisor: Monica Hernandez
Meeting Time: TBA
Purpose: To help bring social justice to all students through a Chicano perspective. The club will focus on eliminating the overall stereotypes and social stigma of Mexican Americans through engagement and projects.
Email: monica.hernandez@gcccd.edu

RESPIRATORY THERAPY CLUB 2018
Advisors:  Peggy Wells, PH 644-7813
               Carey Flores, PH 644-7311
Meeting Time: TBD
Purpose:To organize and arrange various community service projects, educational functions, social activities and fundraisers that all relate to and promote a greater knowledge of respiratory therapy.
Email: peggy.wells@gcccd.edu; carey.glores@gcccd.edu

SCIENCE CLUB
Advisors: Martin Larter, PH 644-7346
               Jeff Lehman, PH 6447341
Meeting Time: Fridays, 2:30 - 3:30, Bldg. 30 Rm. 250
Purpose: To reach out to students and broaden their knowledge and interest in science through fun-filled activities that positively impact the community.
Email: martin.larter@gcccd.edu; jeff.lehman@gcccd.edu

SEXUAL ORIENTATION/GENDER IDENTITY (SOGI)
Advisor: Dr. Susan Gonda, PH 644-7875
Meeting Time: Friday's 1:00PM, Bldg. 55, Room 527
Purpose: The purpose of SOGI is to create a safe and open community and provide space for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, queer, intersexed, and asexual people (LGBTQIA) and their allies, as well as other students that identify as non-heteronormative. SOGI endeavors to create a safe space for students to express and explore their identity without judgment, where they can be their full authentic selves, and receive peer support. The club strives to promote diversity and cultural awareness through meetings and activities and by challenging cultural norms that result in oppression.
Email: sue.gonda@gcccd.edu

STUDENT VETERAN ORGANIZATION
Advisor: Robert Davis, PH 644-7662
Meeting Time: 1st & 3rd Friday’s, noon, VRC bldg. 21, room 253
Purpose: To create an environment that welcome the veteran and to provide a healthy transition into the academic environment, advocate for veterans benefits at the campus and legislature levels, refer counseling whether academic or other and to assist each member in achieving their goals.
Email:  Robert.davis@gcccd.edu

SUSTAINABLE EARTH ALLIANCE
Advisors: Adam Deutsch
               Jeanette Calo, PH 644-7269
Meeting Time: TBA
Purpose: To explore, educate and advocate for sustainability on campus, in our communities and throughout our lives.
Email: adam.deutsch@gcccd.edu; jeanette.calo@gcccd.edu

YOUNG LIFE
Advisor: John Oakes, PH 644-7345
Meeting Time: TBA
Purpose: To introduce people to Jesus Christ and help them grow in their faith. We do this by providing a safe community focused on adventure, fun and significance.
Email: john.oakes@gcccd.edu

ZION BIBLE STUDY CLUB
Advisor:  Daniela Sow        
Meeting Time: Tuesdays, 7:00AM, Bldg. 36 Rm. 328
Purpose: To innovate and encourage students to become upstanding citizens; while also promoting leadership and humility.  We will use the power of the bible to reach brotherly and sisterly love, while doing volunteer events to help positively influence the school and the entire community as a whole.
Email: daniela.sow@gcccd.ecdu

Last Updated: 11/03/2017
  • GCCCD
  • Grossmont
  • Cuyamaca
A Member of the Grossmont-Cuyamaca Community College District