Download Adobe Reader
Clubs & Organizations
Home » Campus Life » Clubs & Organizations » Current Student Organizations & Clubs
Print

CURRENT STUDENT ORGANIZATIONS & CLUBS

The research is clear: Getting involved OUTSIDE the classroom results in better performance INSIDE the classroom. Please see the list below for contact information for many active clubs on campus, or... START A NEW CLUB! For information on how to start/re-start a club, visit the Clubs & Organizations webpage.

ACTION CLUB
Advisors: Jim Tolbert,  PH 644-7648
               Ed Schumacher, PH 644-7411
               Pam Camp, PH 644-7411
Meeting Time: Tuesdays, 12:30 to 1:30PM, Room 340
Purpose: To provide opportunities for the disabled people on campus, to not only socialize with others, but to aid our community through volunteer service.         
Email: jim.tolbert@gcccd.edu; pam.camp@gcccd.edu; ed.schumacher@gcccd.edu

AGAINST ALL ODDS
Advisors: Selam Gebrekristos, PH 644-7121
               Laura Sahagun, PH 644-7132
Meeting Time: TBA
Purpose: To provide a support group for individuals who don't fit in or have overcome life changing obstacles. Creating an extended family.
Email: selam.gebrekristos@gcccd.edu; laura.sahagun@gcccd.edu

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITY WOMEN
Advisor:  Sue Gonda, PH 644-7875
Meeting Time: TBA
Purpose: Provides opportunities for women to gain experience in non-partisan projects that serve the community. The mission of the AAUW is to advance equity of women and girls through advocacy, philanthropy and research.
Email: sue.gonda@gcccd.edu

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITY WOMEN, ACTIVISM WING
Advisor:  Sue Gonda, PH 644-7875
Meeting Time: TBA
Purpose: Allows students to learn how to plan and execute social justice projects that benefit women to eliminate social stigma and stereotypes and advance the status of women. We strive to create collaboration with other student groups on campus.
Email: sue.gonda@gcccd.edu


AMERICAN CRIMINAL JUSTICE ASSOCIATION (ACJA)
Advisor:  Tina Young, PH 644-7837
              Kathy Sentz, PH 644-7323
Meeting Time: 1st Fri/month, 6PM, Bldg. 34, Room 150
Purpose: The purpose of this club shall be to promote and enhance members’ knowledge of the criminal justice field and professionalism in the field by providing educational and networking activities. 
Email: grossmontacja@gmail.com

ARABIC CLUB
Advisor:  Sonia Ghattas-Soliman, PH 644-7348
              Yousra Qudeimat, PH 644- 7454 x3460 
Meeting Time: Thursdays, 5:00PM, Club Room (Bldg. 60, Room 206)
Purpose: To exchange information about the Arab world, hot button issues in the Arab world, Arabic culture, Arabic music and movies, and to organize activities of mutual interest to the members of the club, such as social get-togethers, parties, debates, BBQs, trips on and off campus etc.
Email: sonia.ghattassoliman@gcccd.edu; yousra.qudeimat@gcccd.edu; arabicclubgcccd@gmail.com

ATHLETICS' CLUB
Advisor: Robert Claesson, PH 644-7882
Meeting Time: Tuesdays, 11:00AM, Football Field
Purpose: To provide a safe space for students to practice and participate in sports activities and a variety of athletic events as well as promote overall fitness and wellness.
Email: robert.claesson@gcccd.edu

Cal WORKS Club
Advisors: Hadasah Nations, PH 644-7552
               Gabrielle Gosselin, PH 644-1749
Meeting Time: TBA
Purpose: Our mission is to support parents in achieving their academic goals, and help them to create new opportunities for themselves, their children, and the community.
Email: hadasah.nations@gcccd.edu; gabrielle.gosselin@gcccd.edu

CALIFORNIA NURSING STUDENT ASSOCIATION (CNSA)

Advisors: Angela Ngo, PH 644-7319
               Sarah Babini, PH 644-7450
Meeting Time: Monday, 11:00 to 12:30PM, Room 201
Purpose: To assume responsibility for contribution to nursing education in order to provide for the highest quality health care.  To provide programs representative of fundamental and current professional interest and concerns.  To aid in the development of the whole person, his/her professional role, and his/her responsibility for the health care of people in all walks of life.
Email: angela.ngo@gcccd.edusarah.babini@gcccd.edujudy.medina@gcccd.edu
 

CAMPUS MINISTERY INTERNATIONAL AT GROSSMONT COLLEGE
Advisors: Brian Woolsey, PH 644-7258
               Michael Perez, PH 644-7746
Meeting Time: TBA
Purpose: To reinforce the faith of Christian youth attending Grossmont College and to provide for the students, faculty and staff a basis from which to learn about biblical teaching and the experience of Apostolic faith.
Email: brian.woolsey@gcccd.edu; michael.perez@gcccd.edu

CARDIOVASCULAR TECHNOLOGY CLASS OF 2017
Advisor: Liz Barrow,  PH 644-7895
Meeting Time: 1st Thursdays of the month, time TBD, location TBD
Purpose: To promote the Cardiovascular Technology program through hard work, dedication, and community outreach events in which we strive to increase awareness of cardiovascular disease, as well as, raise funds for a celebratory event held upon completion of the program. It is the CVT Club 2017's goal to formally appreciate the proctors that support and improve our program, helping to further the education of the Cardiovascular Technologist students at this event.
Email: liz.barrow@gcccd.edu

CARDIOVASCULAR TECHNOLOGY CLUB (CVT) 2018
Advisor: Liz Barrow, PH 644-7895
Meeting Time: TBA
Purpose: To promote the Cardiovascular Technology program through hard work, dedication and community outreach events in which we strive to increase awareness of cardiovascular disease, as well as, raise funds for a celebratory event help upon completion of the program.
Email: liz.barrow@gcccd.edu

THE CARE CLUB
Advisors: Michael Perez, PH 644-7746
               Maite Valadolid, PH 644--7454 X3605
Meeting Time: TBA
Purpose: To support anyone who has been touched by single-parenting and help them succeed both academically and socially. As students that face difficulties unknown by the general student population, it is our goal to create additional opportunities that will produce functional students and families. By participating in the community, creating networking opportunities while, also sharing resources and supporting one another. We are not a club we are a family.
Email: michael.perez@gcccd.edu; maite.valadolid@gcccd.edu

CHI ALPHA CHRISTIAN FELLOWSHIP
Advisor: John Oakes, PH 644-7345
Meeting Time: Wednesdays, 2:00-3:30, Bldg. 54 Rm. 500
Purpose: To develop the spiritual life and abilities of students in relation to God, to each other, and to the world at large within a Pentecostal Christian context and in a manner consistent with the teachings of the Assemblies of God USA. As part of this mission, Chi Alpha seeks to introduce fellow collegians to an authentic relationship with Jesus Christ.
Email:john.oakes@gcccd.edu                                                                                                  

CHINESE CLUB
Advisor: Claire Liu,  PH 644-7454 x3545 
Meeting Time: Mondays, 4:30-5:30 Bldg. 53 Rm. 538
Purpose: To expose the community to the Chinese culture and learn Chinese language in a fun, constructive environment. We also have a mission to stay up-to-date with the events and policies in China that develops a new sense of national identity and place in the world.
Email: Claire.liu@gcccd.edu


CREATIVE WRITERS
Advisor: Julie Cardenas, PH 644-7486
Meeting Time: Tuesdays, 3:30-4:30, ASGC Clubroom
Purpose: To provide a safe atmosphere where students passionate about writing can feel free to express themselves through workshops and openly sharing their work with each other.
Email: julie.cardenas@gcccd.edu

DREAMERS MOVEMENT CLUB
Advisors: Julio Soto, PH 644-3923 
              Katherine Vilchez, PH 668-1736
Meeting Time: 1st and 3rd Thursdays, 11AM-11:45AM, ASGC Clubroom
Purpose: The Dreamers Movement student organization aspires to educate, support and guide students who have faced academic and personal hardships due to their AB540/undocumented status. Our organization will assist incoming, and currently enrolled students with their college transition and retention needs while also providing a supporting community for the development of student's necessary sense of belonging. 
Email: julio.soto@gcccd.edu; katherine.vilchez@gcccd.edu

EOPS CLUB
Advisor: Pearl Lopez, PH 644-7651
Meeting Time: Thursdays, 4:00PM-5:00PM, ASGC Clubs Room
Purpose:To create a fun environment in which members cooperate together to foster their leadership, spread cultural awareness, provide services for the community, and help with education.
Email: Pearl.Lopez@gcccd.edu

FILM CLUB
Advisor: Robert Lacher
Meeting Time: Mondays and Wednesdays,  9AM - 11AM, Bldg. 20 Rm. 120
Purpose: To create an environment for students who express an interest in film and film production allowing them to explore all aspects of film, while producing entry level films.
Email: robert.lacher@gcccd.edu

FUTURE BROADCASTER OF AMERICA
Advisor: Evan Wirig, PH 644-7465
Meeting Time: Tuesdays and Thursdays, 11AM, Griffin Radio Station
Purpose:To train and inform students of opportunities in the professional broadcast world.
Email: evan.wirig@gcccd.edu

GRIFFIN GAMERS
Advisor: Tom Harrisburg
Meeting Time:  Fridays, 12:30, Bldg. 55, Room 550
Purpose: To provide a platform for students to discuss, compete, debate, socialize and play various games. We will also host events and tournaments to gain funds for the club.
Email: tom.harrisburg@gcccd.edu 

HISPANIC ORGANIZATION FOR LATINO AWARENESS (HOLA) CLUB
Advisors: Daniel Hernandez, PH 644-7133
               Nadia Almaguer, PH. 644-7127
Meeting Time:  TBA
Purpose: Promote educational and cultural awareness of the invaluable contribution that Latino cultures have provided. We preserve this objective through enriching and recreational activities that we sponsor. We encourage diverse membership (from all ethnic backgrounds) and provide a wide range of opportunities for all students (both Hispanic and non-Hispanic alike) in order to enhance student participation on campus.
Email: nadia.almaguer@gcccd.edu; daniel.hernandez@gcccd.edu

INTERNATIONAL CLUB
Advisors: Bryan Lam, PH 644-7466
               Will Pines,   PH644-7852
Meeting Time: Fridays, 12:00-1:30PM, Bldg. 34 Rm. 105
Purpose: The purpose of the club shall be to provide a forum for the interaction of American and International students, to promote cultural enhancement of all students through social, cultural and educational events and activities and to assist new students in adapting to college life on campus and beyond.
Email: gstinterclub@yahoo.com 
Website: http://www.grossmont.edu/student-services/applyenroll/internationalstudents/international-club/default.aspx

JAPANESE CLUB 
Advisors: Paul Vincent, PH 644-7741
             Keiki Ito, PH 644-7454
Meeting Time: Wednesdays, 4:00-5:30 ASGC Clubs Room
Purpose: To provide a fun and safe environment for students to learn about, and experience, Japanese language and traditional / pop culture. Our goal is to complement the Japanese Language Program by allowing students to connect with one another. We strive to create a space where both those who are intrigued by Japanese culture as well as Japanese students will feel comfortable and willing to share experiences and interests of Japan.
Email: paul.vincent@gcccd.edu; keiko.ito@gcccd.edu  

LE CERCLE FRANCAIS (FRENCH CLUB)
Advisor: Jean-Claude Beauville, PH 644-7454 x3626
Meeting Time: Tuesdays, 3:30pm, Club Room (Bldg. 60, Room 206)
Purpose: The purpose of this organization shall be to promote French/Francophone culture and language and to provide students with an increased awareness of Francophone culture, food, film in France, the Francophone world and our own community.
Email: jean.beauville@gcccd.edu

LIFE AFTER COLLEGE (LAC)
Advisors: Leon Martin Ennis, PH 644-7522 
               Derrek Cannon, PH 644-7257
Meeting Time: Fridays, 1PM - 3PM, Bldg. 70 Rm. 113
Purpose: To help and educate young scholars to be financially ready on making wise decisions of controlling their money and retirement funds during/after college.
Email: marty.ennis@gcccd.edu; derrek.cannon@gcccd.edu


MOVEMENT ESTUDIANTIL CHICANO DE AZTLAN (M.E.CH.A) CLUB
Advisors: Monica Hernandez 
              Carlos Contreras, PH 644-7758
Meeting Time: Thursdays, 5:00PM - 6:00PM, ASGC Board Room
Purpose: To promote higher education, culture and history. M.E.CH.A. was founded on the principles of self determination for the liberation of our people. We believe that political involvement and education is the avenue for change in our society.
EMAIL: monica.hernandez@gcccd.edu; carlos.contreras@gcccd.edu  

ORTHOPEDIC TECHNOLOGY PROGRAM
Advisor: Chris Rice
Meeting Time:  Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, 6:00pm, Health Bldg.
Purpose: To get more people interested in orthopedics as a job.
Email: chris.rice@gcccd.edu

PALETTE CLUB
Advisor: Sydney Brown, 644-7523
Meeting Time:  TBA
Purpose: To create a safe space for students' mental health through the expression of art. Email: sydney.brown@gcccd.edu

PHI THETA KAPPA
Advisors: Sylvia Montejano, PH.644-7618
               Lida Rafia, PH 644-7770
               Irene Bauza, PH 644-7603 
Meeting Time: Fridays, 3:00PM, ASGC Boardroom
Purpose: The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa at Grossmont College shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students.
Email: sylvia.montejano@gcccd.edu; lida.rafia@gcccd.edu; irene.bauza@gcccd.edu

PUENTE CLUB
Advisor: Monica Hernandez
Meeting Time: TBA
Purpose: To help bring social justice to all students through a Chicano perspective. The club will focus on eliminating the overall stereotypes and social stigma of Mexican Americans through engagement and projects.
Email: monica.hernandez@gcccd.edu

RESPIRATORY THERAPY CLUB 2018
Advisors:  Peggy Wells, PH 644-7813
               Carey Flores, PH 644-7311
Meeting Time: TBD
Purpose:To organize and arrange various community service projects, educational functions, social activities and fundraisers that all relate to and promote a greater knowledge of respiratory therapy.
Email: peggy.wells@gcccd.edu; carey.glores@gcccd.edu

SCIENCE CLUB
Advisors: Martin Larter, PH 644-7346
               Jeff Lehman, PH 6447341
Meeting Time: Fridays, 2:30 - 3:30, Bldg. 30 Rm. 250
Purpose: To reach out to students and broaden their knowledge and interest in science through fun-filled activities that positively impact the community.
Email: martin.larter@gcccd.edu; jeff.lehman@gcccd.edu

SEXUAL ORIENTATION/GENDER IDENTITY (SOGI)
Advisor: Dr. Susan Gonda, PH 644-7875
Meeting Time: Thursdays, 3:30PM, Bldg. 55, Room 524
Purpose: The purpose of SOGI is to create a safe and open community and provide space for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, queer, intersexed, and asexual people (LGBTQIA) and their allies, as well as other students that identify as non-heteronormative. SOGI endeavors to create a safe space for students to express and explore their identity without judgment, where they can be their full authentic selves, and receive peer support. The club strives to promote diversity and cultural awareness through meetings and activities and by challenging cultural norms that result in oppression.
Email: sue.gonda@gcccd.edu

STUDENT VETERAN ORGANIZATION
Advisor: Robert Davis, PH 644-7662
Meeting Time: 1st & 3rd Friday’s, noon, VRC bldg. 21, room 253
Purpose: To create an environment that welcome the veteran and to provide a healthy transition into the academic environment, advocate for veterans benefits at the campus and legislature levels, refer counseling whether academic or other and to assist each member in achieving their goals.
Email:  Robert.davis@gcccd.edu


SUSTAINABLE EARTH ALLIANCE
Advisors: Adam Deutsch
               Jeanette Calo, PH 644-7269
Meeting Time: TBA
Purpose: To explore, educate and advocate for sustainability on campus, in our communities and throughout our lives.
Email: adam.deutsch@gcccd.edu; jeanette.calo@gcccd.edu

YOUNG LIFE
Advisor: John Oakes, PH 644-7345
Meeting Time: TBA
Purpose: To introduce people to Jesus Christ and help them grow in their faith. We do this by providing a safe community focused on adventure, fun and significance.
Email: john.oakes@gcccd.edu

ZION BIBLE STUDY CLUB
Advisor:  Daniela Sow        
Meeting Time: Tuesdays, 7:00AM, Bldg. 36 Rm. 328
Purpose: To innovate and encourage students to become upstanding citizens; while also promoting leadership and humility.  We will use the power of the bible to reach brotherly and sisterly love, while doing volunteer events to help positively influence the school and the entire community as a whole.
Email: daniela.sow@gcccd.ecdu

Last Updated: 05/22/2017
  • GCCCD
  • Grossmont
  • Cuyamaca
A Member of the Grossmont-Cuyamaca Community College District